Duty Area

National duty area: All of the Turkey

Regional duty area: Total 15 provinces comprising Artvin, Rize, Trabzon, Giresun, Ordu, Samsun, Sinop, Kastamonu, Zonguldak, Bartın, Karabük, Amasya, Tokat, Çorum and Gümüşhane provinces. The institute is in charge in two sub regions as coastal and transient zones in these provinces to conduct its duties.


The institute has been conducting their researches and agricultural extension activities in five departments: Field Plants, Plant Protection, Horticultural Plants, Energy Plants, Soil and Water Sources. Studying subjects are on warm season cereals (maize and rice), cool season cereals (wheat and barley), food grain legumes (bean and chickpea), oilseed plants (rape, soybean, sunflower, safflower), fodder plants, medicinal plants, fruit growing and vegetable growing as well as plant protection and growing techniques studies on all regional plants. In addition, the institute has been preparing the projects on energy plants and has been providing the coordination on the same subject.